What is Meaningful Use?

SolidPractice is Certified ONC-ATCB for Meaningful Use Stage 1 & 2

19.2 billion dollars has been allotted by the government to help providers move away from paper charting methods and start implementing certified electronic medical records. Meaningful use sets specific objectives that eligible professionals (EPs) and hospitals must achieve to qualify for Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Incentive Programs.

Meaningful Use Aims to:

  • Improve quality, safety, efficiency, and reduce health disparities
  • Engage patients and family
  • Improve care coordination, and population and public health
  • Maintain privacy and security of patient health information
  • Improved population health outcomes
  • Increased transparency and efficiency
  • More robust research data on health systems

Stages of Meaningful Use

Stage 1


Data capture and sharing

Stage 2


Advance clinical processes

Stage 3


Improved outcomes

CMS Attestation

physician quality reporting system

SolidPractice is certified ONC-ATCB for Meaningful Use Stage 1 & 2, which means that a provider using our software can Participate in the Medicare EHR Incentive Program.

SolidPractice is committed to guaranteeing that our clients meet Meaningful Use goals and requirements. We provide our customers who upgrade with a Meaningful Use expert and trainer. Our Trainers will expertly guide you through the complexities and uncertainties of Meaningful Use.

Basic Information for Eligible Professionals Participating in the Medicare EHR Incentive Program:

The program started in 2011, and payments will continue through 2016. Eligible professionals can participate for up to 5 continuous years throughout the duration of the program.
The last year to begin participation and receive an incentive payment is 2014. To receive the maximum incentive payment, eligible professionals must have started participation by 2012. Eligible professionals who demonstrate meaningful use of certified EHR technology can receive up to $43,720 over 5 continuous years.
To qualify for incentive payments, eligible professionals must successfully demonstrate meaningful use for each year of participation in the program.
Beginning in 2015, eligible professionals who do not successfully demonstrate meaningful use will be subject to a payment adjustment. The payment reduction starts at 1% and increases each year that an eligible professional does not demonstrate meaningful use, to a maximum of 5%.

What is the "Merit Based Incentive Payment System" or (MIPS)?

This new program will access providers in 4 categories; Quality of Care, MU, Healthcare Resources (ordering too many tests) and improving clinical practice. Providers will be scored on a scale from 0-100. An extra $500 million a year will be awarded to exceptional providers from 2018 through 2023.

For your colleagues that decided against going to a certified EHR, they have announced some harsher penalties:

4% in 2018
5% in 2019
7% in 2020
9% in 2021

For those of you that are a part of the IMPS/SolidPractice family, they have announced some exciting, potential bonuses for you! These new bonuses are 3 times the penalties:

12% in 2018
15% in 2019
21% in 2020
27% in 2021

Use our free revenue calculator below to get an estimate of how your Practice will be effected.